View project on GitHub

Project website

App video demo

Project Description

The SCDOT Project will collect data relating to public roadway signs in the state of South Carolina. This data includes retroreflectivity, GPS coordinates, direction of signs, and a graphical image. The goal of the project is to produce an Android application that automates the data collection process and is compatible with the majority of Android operating systems. The project will heavily focus on compatibility with KitKat, Lollipop, and Jelly Bean 4.2x Android operating systems as this makes up 78 percent of the Android operating systems on the market. The application will implement Android life cycles to create a dynamic program which can potentially be used along third party software. Database storage could potentially implement SQLlite on the Android device by itself, or could be uploaded through the Internet to an offsite server. image002_web The main purpose of this app is so the field technitians can input data on the go with out the need of carrying around a book for data entry.

App images

Login page

screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 18 16 pm

Account Signup

New users will have to create an account to use the app
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 18 42 pm

Home page

The home page will display all the signs that user has completed.
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 22 36 pm

New Record

This page lets the user input all the data from the sign including measurements, GPS corodinates and image.
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 23 28 pm


The Export button will create a CSV file for the data the user created and gives an option to either save it to the device or where it can be sent in an email.
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 4 56 06 pm

Sort records

Completed records can be sorted by measurement, date or GPS cordinates.
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 23 54 pm

Map view

All the completed records are shown on a map. Tapping on a map marker will bring the user to a the page containing all the data for that record.
screen shot 2017-04-23 at 3 25 29 pm

Team members

Craig Crawley
Justin Foore
Kevin McRae
Michael Galvin